3 comments on “Samsung Galaxy S2 – I9100G: ICS update and CM9

  1. Generally I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very great post.

    • Hi man8613,

      CM9 is ICS based. So I assume that you mean between Stock Samsung ICS update or CM9 for your GT I9100G. In that case, I would recommend you to go CM9. I have heard a few comments from other owners of GT I9100G who said that the Stock Samsung ICS update makes the phone feel slower. CM9 makes it run smoother, faster and probably with less battery.

      How? Well, for starters, CM9 takes out the TouchWiz launcher that Samsung uses. It also removes some of Samsung’s proprietary apps like the hubs. With a less resource hungry launcher (CM9 uses Trebuchet launcher), and less unnecessary apps, you will have more free space and less things for your CPU to process, hence the smoother and faster operations.

      The only time I would recommend using Stock is when either you need some of the Samsung proprietary apps or if the custom ROMs are not stable.

      Hope that helps!

Speak your mind

